Memory Profiles: Zoo Atlanta

Memory Profiles: Zoo Atlanta

Recently, I had a fun idea for a new type of posts, and I got the inspiration for it from the topic that I’ll be talking about today! So here’s my idea:

What if I were to write posts about different places and activities that I’ve loved going to and doing over the years, then find pictures of me as a kid doing those specific things? I think it’d be fun to compile together, talk about, and let all of my readers see how I looked as a kid. It might be humiliating sometimes, but hey, we all went through those awkward stages. (At least, I think we did … lol!)

So, here’s a bit of information for today’s post:

  • It’s one of my all-time favorite places to go.
  • Because I live so close, I usually go multiple times a year.
  • My dad helped build one of the new exhibits.
  • I can’t remember the first time that I went.

Today, I’ll be talking all about Zoo Atlanta!!

~~~~~~~~~~~

{A Bit About It}

Zoo Atlanta is an absolutely wonderful zoo. It has a large variety of animals, good-sized exhibits, very nice staff members and volunteers, and the way the whole park is laid out … I could go on and on about how much I love it!

Because my family and I live less than an hour away, we’ve had a membership most years, which is so nice. We’re able to spread out what animals we’d like to see over the course of a few trips instead of trying to pack it all into one day!

As I mentioned a moment ago, the park has an epic layout, and that is by habitat or country, so there’s a place for the African animals (lions, meerkats, zebras, warthogs, etc), a place for rainforest animals (gorillas and other monkeys), a place for Australian animals (kangaroos, kookaburras, etc), a place for Asian animals (pandas, sun bears, etc.), and so on. There are also animals that don’t come from a specific geographical places, like different birds and domestic animals (i.e. the petting zoo), but for the most part, it’s very easy to figure out from the map where each animal is located.

The first time I ever went was in 2002, and I don’t remember it except through pictures because … I was two. (That’s the featured image of this post!)

{When You Get There}

The first thing you see when you get into the zoo are the flamingos.

And honestly, that exhibit has seemed so boring to me after going to the Birmingham Zoo last year, because their flamingo exhibit is designed so that you can feed the birds out of your hand!

Sorry, I couldn’t help including that picture, haha. Alright, back to the Atlanta Zoo.

The exhibit that excited me even more (if that was possible!) than the petting zoo was the unveiling of the budgie exhibit in 2010. I was legitimately soooo excited, you don’t even know.

I’m pretty sure the picture above was of the first time a budgie trusted me to eat from the food stick I always had with me when walking around that exhibit. Such a fun experience! (But I found out when we went to the zoo a few weeks ago that the exhibit is now permanently closed so that they can expand the elephant exhibit. 😦 I understand why they’re doing it, but I’ll always miss it.)

#RIPParakeetExhibit

After checking out the flamingos, there are two different ways you can go; the first, which is also the one that most people take, is the path to the African exhibits, starting with the elephants, then leading to the warthogs, meerkats, and so on; and the second way is to the playground/Treetop Trail, which then leads to the attractions: a carousel, rock climbing, and this curséd climbing thing.

Back in September of last year, I decided to climb up the inside of that thing with my brothers … and instantly went into survival mode. Not only did I have to figure out how to get myself to the top, but I also helped Samuel (5) and Joshua (12) find their way up, as well. It was strenuous, stressful, and a huge struggle. Hah! I don’t recommend this contraption for any ages.

They recently shifted the playground around to the back of the area where it has always been because of the all-new [disappointing] Treetop Trail, which is set up right above the playground area! The most also disappointing thing about the playground growing up was that they don’t have any swings; just different things to climb on.

If you continue on through the park, you’ll see that the carousel is fairly close to that awful climbing thing. lol

I’m pretty sure that all of the carousel animals can be seen at the zoo – for example, in the picture above, the three of us were riding a trio of pandas! Our main goal on the carousel is to find the animals that ride the highest for maximum fun. hahah

Once you’re done checking out the attractions, you can check out the birds, Australian animals, and the petting zoo.

 

 

I already shared some photos of me with the goats, so here’s one of me “riding” an old wooden horse that used to be there. I think that’s a SpongeBob Band-Aid on my knee. xD

Once you’re done there, you can head over to the Wild Planet Café.

Heads-up: it’s not really a café – think more along the lines of “cafeteria”!! Our favorite things to get there are the pizza and the fries, but they also have a nice selection of other lunch foods, as well.

Continuing on through the park from there, you can visit the pandas and other animals from Asia, and then head over to the rainforest animals area, which mainly consists of the gorilla exhibit.

Haha! Who knew I could be so stoked about gorillas. My favorite time to visit the gorillas are when there are babies; they love coming up to the thick glass panes of the indoor viewing area and playing around with the children watching them.

Now, if you’ll remember from the beginning of this post, I mentioned that my dad helped build one of the new exhibits. That’s because he works in construction (he drives a concrete truck), and they needed a lot of concert when they built the new reptile house!

In all honesty, I love the old reptile house from the 70’s way more. But the new one has some really cool animals, too.

To anyone who’s scared of snakes: I’m sorry if the pictures above disturbed you. These were very chill snakes; nothing vicious, I assure you 😀 (But then, I’ve always had a thing for snakes.)

I hope you enjoyed this post! Let me know what your favorite parts about Zoo Atlanta are if you’ve ever been.

Leave a Reply

